thankfulness

This thanksgiving weekend has been a really good one for me. I’ve mostly only been studying for exams coming up, but it has been relaxing. Because of thanksgiving, I was obviously thinking about what I am thankful for. I won’t list them, but then I decided to do a little study on what the Bible tells us to be thankful for. I really encourage you to read all these verses, and even to look them up and read them in their context as well! God is so good and has blessed us with so much to be thankful for! There are a lot of verses, but it is encouraging to read them, and i think worth the time! Just reminds of how much we have to give thanks for!

Psalm 107:8 “Let them thank the LORD for his steadfast love, for his wondrous works to the children of man!”

Luke 18:11 “The Pharisee standing by himself, prayed thus: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other men, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even like this tax collector.”

Romans 1:8 “First, I thank my God through Jesus Christ for all of you, because your faith is proclaimed in all the world.”

Philippians 1:3-5 “I thank my God in all my remembrance of you, always in every prayer of mine for you all making my prayer with joy, because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now.”

Colossions 3:15-16 “And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God.”

1 Chronicles 16:8 “Oh give thanks to the LORD; call upon his name; make known his deeds among the peoples!”

Psalm 30:4 “Sing praises to the LORD, O you his saints, and give thanks to his holy name.”

Psalm 79:13 “But we your people, the sheep of your pasture, will give thanks to you forever; from generation to generation we will recount your praise.”

Psalm 118:1 “Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; for his steadfast love endures forever!”

Psalm 145:10 “All your works shall give thanks to you, O LORD, and all your saints shall bless you!”

Romans 6:17-18 “But thanks be to God, that you who were once slaves of sin have become obedient from the heart to the standard of teaching to which you were committed, and, having been set free from sin, have become slaves of righteousness.”

1 Corinthians 15:57 “But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.”

2 Corinthians 2:14 “But thanks be to God, who in Christ always leads us in triumphal procession, and through us spreads the fragrance of the knowledge of him everywhere.”

2 Corinthians 9:15 “Thanks be to God for his inexpressible gift!”

Ephesians 1:15-23 “For this reason, because I have heard of your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love toward all the saints, I do not cease to give thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers, that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you a spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of him, having the eyes of your hearts enlightened, that you may know what is the hope to which he has called you, what are the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, and what is the immeasurable greatness of his power toward us who believe, according to the working of his great might that he worked in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly places, far above all rule and authority and power and dominion, and above every name that is named, not only in this age but also in the one to come. And he put all things under his feet and gave him as head over all things to the church, which is his body, the fullness of him who fills all in all.”

1 Thessalonians 5:18 “give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

2 Thessalonians 2:13 “But we ought always to give thanks to God for you, brothers beloved by the Lord, because God chose you as the first fruits to be saved, through sanctification by the Spirit and belief in the truth.”

Psalm 100:4 “For the LORD is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations.”

Jonah 2:9 “But I with the voice of thanksgiving will sacrifice to you; what I have vowed I will pay. Salvation belongs to the LORD!”

I know that this really encouraged me reading all these verses! (Just for the record, I didn’t just rummage through my bible to find these, I used my concordance in the back and looked them up. That’s what a concordance is for! :)

I hope you all had a wonderful thanksgiving. I am thankful for all of you, my friends reading this! I am blessed tremendously by God for placing each of you in my life!

Leave a comment