rejoice

In regards to the video that I posted yesterday:

Not only did I post this video on my blog, but also on my Facebook as well as to many friend’s walls. If you haven’t watched the ‘180 movie’ yet, I would recommend it. This documentary is very controversial and everyone has their own opinions about a topic such as this. That is why, just before I started posting this video on people’s Facebook walls, I questioned/second guessed myself for doing this. I didn’t want people to think that I was trying to force something at them. My whole purpose for sharing the video was to raise awareness about abortion as well as just get people thinking. So after thinking for a few minutes, I went ahead and posted the video to about 50 of my friend’s Facebook walls. After I did so, I prayed that God would prepare my heart and spirit for any negative responses that would come back to me, as I was sure there would be.

Almost immediately after posting it I started getting responses. Not necessarily good ones. I would say the majority of people I shared the video with were people from my program at school. At one point today, almost our whole class was engaged in a conversation about it before our lecture started. After our class finished I had numerous people come up to me asking me what the meaning of the film was. I probably got to talk to about 8 people in total about my opinions and beliefs on abortion. I have no regrets about posting that video. I knew that some people would have extremely strong opinions and would reject most of the video but I got to share and talk about the value of life and about God today and i wouldn’t trade that in for having people like me. If no body posts says anything or stands up for what they believe in, then who will? You can’t always lean on “Oh I’m sure someone else has this under control.” If you believe in something I strongly encourage you to be bold about it.

I would say the main topic of conversation in my program today was focused around that film. If I hadn’t posted it, they may have never even thought about some of the things they thought of today. God blessed me with the opportunities that I had to speak to different people today! Thank you Lord!

Something else interesting that happened today: About 5 of us were waiting for our conducting class to start this evening. We had about an hour and a half, so we all just went into the lecture hall and decided to do our own thing. Reading, studying, watching movies etc. I decided I would just read my Bible. I didn’t really have any urgent homework that I needed to be doing. As I am just starting to read, one of the guys looks over at me and says, “Are you reading the Bible?” He sounded confused. I said, “Yah, I read the Bible quite frequently. I try to read it every day.” Kind of shocked, he replied with, “huh, ya i know some other people who said they read the Bible too…..*pause* this is the first time I’ve actually witnessed someone actually opening up the Bible and reading it though…” Then he went back to his movie. This made me so happy, to know that God is just using the way I live my everyday life to speak to other people! Hallelujah!

Overall, a pretty crazy day, in a good way. I love being apart of the Kingdom of Heaven! God you are so good, thank you for using me and helping me to be strong and bold! I love you Lord.

“Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity. Until I come, devote yourself to the public reading of Scripture, to preaching and to teaching.” -1 Timothy 4:12-13

“Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery ordeal among you, which comes upon you for your testing, as though some strange thing were happening to you; but to the degree that you share the sufferings of Christ, keep on rejoicing; so that also at the revelation of His glory, you may rejoice with exultation. If you are reviled for the name of Christ, you are blessed, because the Spirit of glory and of God rests upon you. By no means let any of you suffer as a murderer, or thief, or evildoer, or a troublesome meddler; but if anyone suffers as a Christian, let him not feel ashamed, but in that name let him glorify God.” – 1 Peter 4:12-16

Leave a Reply

