discipline

Reign in Us by Starfield

We sang this song in church this morning, and I just was thinking the whole morning about worship, and singing songs. When we worship, are we actually thinking about the words we are singing and believing them? Sometimes I know there have been times when i feel like i cannot sing certain parts of songs because my heart doesn’t agree. That’s when i need to just stop and pray for God to change my heart.

This song says “We need your perfect love we need your discipline”. I don’t know about you, but i don’t remember the last time i prayed “Lord i need your discipline.” When things go wrong, i am definitely quick to say “Oh I’m under the attack of the devil” rather then to look at my own actions and decisions that got me to that place. It says in Proverbs 3:12 “The Lord corrects those he loves, just as a father corrects a child in whom he delights.” I need to pray and ask God to be under his discipline. Hebrews 12:11 says “No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.”

Along with His perfect love comes discipline. I want to be trained by God’s discipline. Lord I submit myself to you, and all my faults and failures. Lord discipline me so that I may live a life that glorifies you!

Leave a Reply

