opportunity

Perth by Bon Iver (Feel free to listen to this song as you read this. Its what I listened to as I wrote this)                                                                                                                               I went to revcamp this summer, and God really did some amazing things in my life. It’s funny, because i wasn’t going to go to camp originally. Then thinking about it the day before, I realized that i really did want to be at camp. So made many phone calls and was officially the latest person EVER to sign up for camp. I think it was actually a good thing that I decided to go to camp last minute because then i didn’t have all this time before camp to have expectations of what God was going to do. So I went to camp with a very open heart to just hear and receive whatever God had for me and I got so changed! God rearranged my priorities and put Him at the top of everything else and he really challenged me with some of the friendships that I have made this past year. I made a choice in my heart one night, that the friends I keep closest to me, need to be ones that are going in the same direction as me so that I am able to grow and they are able to help and encourage me on my walk with the Lord.

Those were the main things that happened to me at camp. Ever since I’ve been back, it has been so awesome just basking in the glory of the Lord. I find myself thinking constantly about Him and about who I can share the good news about Jesus too. And I’m not thinking about this because i have to, it is just a part of who I am now. I would say I’m almost a completely different person since I came back from camp. My heart desires to serve and follow the Lord with all that I have.

Something that I have been praying about a fair amount lately, is that I wouldn’t put school ahead of the Lord. I’ve been really praying that God would give me opportunities to speak into the lives of people at my school and that I would be bold and jump on each opportunity that presents itself. After Music History one day I had about 15min until I had to be at Spanish. One of my friends really needed to talk to me, so we went out into the courtyard. She dated a guy last year and then over the summer he broke up with her, and now he wants to get back together with her. They are both in the same program so all their classes, for the most part, are the same. So it kind of goes without saying, but she is finding the whole situation quite difficult. So we were walking from my locker and she just asked to talk. As we were walking I just prayed a prayer that I would give her Godly advice and that i would be sensitive but also stern but most of all just easy to trust. We talked all the time that we could before our classes. I was fully prepared to miss my Spanish class to talk with her, but she had a class as well. As we parted our ways, she looked like she was going to cry and she said to me. “Thank you. I want to talk with you more about this, because you are actually helping me.” After hearing about half an hour earlier, another girl saying to her “I don’t care. You’re the one who dated him. It’s not up to me. Do what you want.” It just touched my heart that I was able to give her some direction. And it is only by the grace of God that I was able to talk openly to her and she was receptive to hear and receive all that I had to say.

I thank God for that 15 minutes that we shared, because it just reminds me that God answers our prayers when we remember that he is the only focus of our lives.

Completely shifting gears now. My family seems to be falling apart. Not my immediate family, but all of my extended family. My dad comes from a family of 7, he is the youngest. And my mom just has 1 brother. I would say I am lucky if i see any of my aunts, uncles or cousins once a year. We are not a close family at all. Recently, some hurt has been stirred up among the family that has brought me to tears. Hurtful things were said and our family seems to be crumbling to bits. I’ve prayed for my family to become close for a very long time and it seems as though we’ve only pulled further and further apart. I am trying to be steadfast in my prayers, but it is sometimes difficult when no results happen, and then an incident like what happened the other day occurs. Ultimately God is the only one I can turn to. He is the only one who will be able to heal the wounds of our family. All I can do is pray. The Lord gives, and he also takes away. May the name of the Lord be praised forever.

One thought on “opportunity

Leave a Reply

